TTR World Snowboard Tour

Points List
News BG5B0630

Jamie Anderson and Max Parrot take home U.S. Grand Prix Big Air titles


COPPER MOUNTAIN, CO (Dec­. 17, 2016) – American snowboarders found more success at the final event of the Toyota U.S. Grand Prix weekend: the Team USA Winter Champions Series big air. Jamie Anderson (South Lake Tahoe, CA) landed the win for the women and Ryan Stassel (Anchorage, AK) took third for the men.

It was the defending Olympic slopestyle champion’s trademark smooth style that earned Anderson the win on Saturday. With the best two of three jumps scored, Anderson started with a switch backside 540 and followed up with a Cab 720. Julia Marino (Westport, CT), who won the scaffolding big air event at Fenway Park in February, finished fourth with a double cork 900 and a backflip. Enni Rukajarvi of Finland was second and Klaudia Medlova of Slovakia, who landed the first double cork 1080 in competition, was third.

Stassel outrode serious competition on the big air jump, putting down a frontside 1440 and a switch backside double 1260. Conditions deteriorated as the contest went on, with flat light making it very difficult for riders to spot their landings. Sitting in second place after his third run, Stassel had to watch multiple riders take their runs before he was assured a podium position. “I put down two runs and the scores weren’t the highest,” Stassel said. “So when it came down to the third one, it was really a nail biter. I was just waiting it out and I was able to hold on.” The dominant Canadian jumpers topped the podium—Max Parrot in first and Sebastien Toutant in second.

The U.S. Grand Prix/World Cup big air event was part of the Team USA Winter Champions Series. The event aired live on NBC alongside two other Olympic sport events—luge and ice hockey. Big air will make its Olympic debut at PyeongChang, South Korea in 2018.

Other Americans in the final: Nik Baden (Steamboat Springs, CO) was seventh; Eric Willett (Breckenridge, CO) was eighth; Chris Corning (Silverthorne, CO) was 10th.


1. Jamie Anderson USA
2. Enni Rukajarvi FIN
3. Klaudia Medlova SVK
4. Julia Marino  USA
5. Katie Ormerod GBR
6. Kjersti Buaas NOR
7. Spencer OBrien CAN
8. Karly Shorr USA
9. Zoi Sadowski-Synnott NZL
10. Sina Candrian SUI


1. Max Parrot CAN
2. Sebastien Toutant CAN
3. Ryan Stassel USA
4. Max Eberhardt CAN
5. Markus Olimstad NOR
6. Kale Jarvilehto FIN
7. Nikolas Baden USA
8. Eric Willett USA
9. Roope Tonteri FIN
10. Chris Corning USA



comments powered by Disqus