TTR World Snowboard Tour

Points List

French Were The Shining Light Of The NescafE Champs 2010


The snow and the fog didnt get the best of the very motivated snowboarders in the finals of the NESCAFE CHAMPS 2010 in Leysin. The Frenchman, Johann Baisamy wins this edition and Patrick Burgener finishes in second place, only a point away from the top spot on the podium. Maxence Tevelle (FRA), takes 3rd place. Jan Scherrer, surprisingly strong in yesterdays qualifications, finishes a respectable 4th place. The difficult weather conditions forced the contest director to decide to run all the semi-finalists together in one super-final heat. All of the riders present happily agreed to this decision despite the reduced visibility. Therefore, todays final results include 18 athletes, 10 qualified and 8 invited riders, who competed for the title at the NESCAFE CHAMPS 2010. After the first run, the young Swiss prodigy, Patrick Burgener, occupied the top spot on the ranking list, but he was to be unseated by the audacious riding of Johann Baisamy, who would go on to win the 2010 edition in his first appearance at the event. Its the first time that Ive competed in this contest. When I saw that I was 2nd after the first run, I really let loose in my 2nd run. I had nothing to lose!, said an ecstatic Johann Baisamy. That attitude paid off for the Frenchman. Patrick Burgener, who had slightly injured one of his knees during training the day before, didnt want to take too many risks, which ended up costing him the top spot by only a 1 point margin. Maxence Tevelle, another French rider, secured the last place on the podium, finishing 3rd. Hailing from Bern, another rising star of Swiss snowboarding, Jan Scherrer finished 4th in the rankings of this TTR contest. Only 15 years old, he was awarded the Dani LEtscher Award that recognizes the accomplishments of the best young rider in the competition. The show continues tomorrow in Leysin with the Buddy System team competition that will also be run in the super-pipe. Plenty of ambiance and a great show are guaranteed!Final results NESCAFE CHAMPS Leysin 2010 :1. Johann Baisamy (FRA), 2. Patrick Burgener (SUI), 3. Maxence Tevelle (FRA), 4. Jan Scherrer (SUI), 5. Sergio Berger (SUI), 6. David Djit