TTR World Snowboard Tour

Points List
News Kelly Clark wins the Burton High Fives Halfpipe Finals 2012

Ayumu Hirano & Kelly Clark Take Top Spots At The Burton High Fives Halfpipe Finals


WANAKA, New Zealand (August 18, 2012) The first annual Burton ‘High Fives’ snowboarding competition, presented by MINI, concluded today at Snow Park NZ in Wanaka, New Zealand with the climactic 5Star halfpipe finals. Burton riders, Kelly Clark (USA) and Ayumu Hirano (JPN), took home US $10,000 each for their impressive winning performances in the pipe.

It was another beautiful ‘bluebird’ day at Snow Park NZ for the halfpipe finals. Women were up first in the pipe for the exciting one-hour jam session. Kelly Clark (USA) and second place rider Queralt Castellet (ESP) took it to a whole new level in women’s pipe as they duked it out for the top spot run. In the end it was Kelly’s incredible second run that took the win with 94.60, starting with a frontside 9, backside 5, front 7, cab 7 and stalefish. Queralt’s third run was a stunning series of spins, opening with a front 5, back 9, front 9, back 5, and a frontside 10 to finish for 92.40 points. Rounding out the podium with a score of 75.40 was USA’s Kaitlyn Farrington whose solid run consisted of a backside 5, stale, crail, corked front 7, cab 7, and backside alley-oop 5.

“The girls rode really great today and Queralt and I were run for run throughout,“ said Kelly. “But in the end I was really happy with my riding and it was so much fun to be putting down 9’s and 10’s in the summertime.”

The men’s halfpipe finals were dominated by the Japanese riders whose sky high boosts lead to the top two podium spots. Leading the charge was none other than 13-year old Ayumu Hirano (JPN), who laid down the gauntlet with his first run. In the end he was theonly rider to top his own score with a 92.40 run that consisted of a frontside air, front 10, cab 10, front double, and crazy alley-oop rodeo 5.  Ayumu’s talent showed through in spades earlier this year at the Burton US Open in March where his winning score in the Junior Jam broke all records. Last year’s Burton NZO winner, Ryo Aono (JPN), claimed second place today with 89.60, starting his run with a front 10 lein, cab 10 melon, front 9 lein, and back 9 lein. At one point it looked like it might be a clean sweep for the Japanese riders, but Greg Bretz (USA) put down a solid run for 88.60 points, nudgingKohei Kudo (JPN) off the podium for third place. Greg’s run started with a front 10 tail, cab 10 nose, front 9 lein, back 9 tail, and a front 10 double cork.

“I am so stoked to have placed first today in my third run of the jam at the Burton High Fives,” said Hirano. “I am now ready to go even bigger in my next competition.”

Prize money today totalled US $35,000 for the Halfpipe at this 5Star World Snowboard Tour event. The 2012 Burton High Fives has dished out a total prize purse of US $80,000 – the largest to date in New Zealand snow sports history.

The halfpipe awards ceremony was as unique as the Burton High Fives itself, complete with boardgiveaways and live sheep. It was followed by the High Fives Sunset Sessions on the sun-drenched deck at the Woolshed at Snow Park NZ, featuring Dudstown Soundsystem. The entertainment will continue later this evening with the High Fives Closing Party at Opium Bar in Wanaka, alsofeaturing Dudstown Soundsystem.

The 2012 Burton High Fives is the first event in the Burton Global Event Series and is a 5star event on the World Snowboard Tour. A special thanks to High Five partners MINI, Nokia, Red Bull, Snow Park NZ, Jagermeister, Juice TV, Skinny Mobile, The Edge, Stoke Lager, and Mighty Campervans.


1. Ayumu Hirano
2. Ryo Aono
3. GregBretz
4. Kohei Kudo
5. Scotty Lago
6. Taku Hiraoka
7. Christian Haller
8. Benji Farrow
9. Fridtjof Tischendorf
10. Michael Ciccarelli
11. Taylor Gold
12. Cameron Staveley
13. Seamus O`Connor
14. Roope Tonteri
15. Scotty James
16 Roger Kleivdal
1. Kelly Clark
2. Queralt Castellet
3. Kaitlyn Farrington
4. Hannah Teter
5. Arielle Gold
6. Jiayu Liu
7. Yuki Furihata
8. Alexandra Duckworth
9. Chloe Kim
10. Sarka Pancochova
11. Cilka Sadar
12. Rebecca Sinclair
13. Enni Rukajärvi
14. Ty Walker


comments powered by Disqus