TTR World Snowboard Tour

Points List

20Th Edition Of 5Star Nescafe Champs Leysin


In the same way as the Athletissima track meet or Lauberhorn ski race, the NESCAFE CHAMPS is part of a longstanding tradition of great sporting events in Switzerland. Since 1992, it has been a not to be missed event, which has written important pages in the snowboarding history books. Leysin can pride itself for being a platform for champions to show their skills and shape their reputations in the Chaux de Mont pipe. So, there is no better time than the 20th edition of the event to indulge in some of the great memories of the stars of Leysin. It all started with Terje Haakonsen, the Norwegian who became a veritable architect of modern freestyle snowboarding, won four times in Leysin. In 1992, for the first edition of the CHAMPS, he was only 18 years old. At the time he had only been snowboarding for 4 years, but already held the title of Europa Cup Champion, which hed won the season before. His reputation was growing, but the Norwegian would explode during the season in question. He would not only win in Leysin, but also take home the first of his three US Open titles. It was the beginning of the reign of Terje Haakonsen, who would leave his mark on the Vaud region of the Alps in 94, 96 and 97 as well. No one will ever forget his mythical Haakon Flip that kept the massive crowd on the deck of the pipe thrilled for years to come. Following in his wake, two other riders from the North helped keep control of the NESCAFE CHAMPS staying in Nordic hands for the rest of the nineties: Finlands Sebu Kuhlberg in 1995 and Norways Daniel Franck, who introduced the Rodeo Flip to the sport, in 1999. Queen NicoleAs for the ladies, its impossible not to associate the early years of the NESCAFE CHAMPS with Nicole Angelrath. Having turned pro a bit by chance after her success in Breckenridge, the girl from Neuch